Skip to main content
Tomorrow Ruined Today (Dead Books Trilogy)

Tomorrow Ruined Today (Dead Books Trilogy)

Current price: $15.00
Publication Date: October 12th, 2021
Rare Bird Books
Shelf Life Books
10 on hand, as of Dec 2 5:19pm
On Our Shelves Now


Ryan Kent and Brett Lloyd played shows together in different unknown bands, each as the respective vocalist. They got along well, and wrote many words that were often shouted over microphones more than they were read. However, contrary to typical next steps musician pals take, they didn't end up collaborating musically. Instead, they co-opted the idea to release split books together-one half dedicated to Brett, the other half dedicated to Ryan-just like two underground bands joining forces to release split 7-inches...and, henceforth, Dead Books was born.

Tomorrow Ruined Today is the first volume of a three-part Dead Books split release series by Brett Lloyd and Ryan Kent, featuring short- and long-form poetic works that are as personal as they are observational, with "depth and careful depictions of the emotions that] lay on the tip of each word like a serial killer on the balance between fantasy and performing reality," as described by Jeff Forrest of The Universal Hitchhiker after Tomorrow Ruined Today was first published in 2019 as a limited edition paperback prior to Rare Bird's worldwide trade release.

About the Author

Brett Lloyd is the author of Deception of Change, Hateburn, and Hour of Man. He is also the frontman for Pillbuster, Mammoth Black, and Down Again. He lives in Virginia Beach. Ryan Kent is the author of three collections of poetry: Hit Me When I'm Pretty, This Is Why I Am Insane, and Poems For Dead People. He is the microphone player for the thrash band Murdersome, and contributes to and RVA Magazine. He lives Cali-sober in Richmond, VA.