Skip to main content
Spring's Arcana (The Dead God's Heart #1)

Spring's Arcana (The Dead God's Heart #1)

Current price: $17.99
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2023
Publisher:
Tor Books
ISBN:
9781250791658
Pages:
368
Shelf Life Books
1 on hand, as of Mar 3 2:21pm
(Mystery/Thriller/Crime)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

American Gods vs. Baba Yaga in this contemporary fantasy: Spring's Arcana, by New York Times bestseller Lilith Saintcrow.

Nat Drozdova is desperate to save a life. Doctors can do little for her cancer-ridden mother, who insists there is only one cure—and that Nat must visit a skyscraper in Manhattan to get it.

Amid a snow-locked city, inside a sleek glass-walled office, Nat makes her plea and is whisked into a terrifying new world. For the skyscraper holds a hungry winter goddess who has the power to cure her mother…if Nat finds a stolen object of great power.

Now Nat must travel with a razor-wielding assassin across an American continent brimming with terror, wonder, and hungry divinities with every reason to consume a young woman. For her ailing mother is indeed suffering no ordinary illness, and Nat Drozdova is no ordinary girl. Blood calls to blood, magic to magic, and a daughter may indeed save what she loves...

…if it doesn’t consume her first.

This is the way to the Dead God’s Heart.

About the Author

Lilith Saintcrow was born in New Mexico, fell in love with writing during second grade, and has continued obsessively ever since. She currently resides in the rainy Pacific Northwest with her children, dogs, cat, and a library for wayward texts.

Praise for Spring's Arcana (The Dead God's Heart #1)

Praise for Spring’s Arcana

“This is a lush, sinister myth woven with modern thread, all the vicious magic of Baba Yaga mixed with the complex relationships between mother, grandmother, and daughter. A powerful fantasy with sharp teeth.”—Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Skyhunter

“Lilith Saintcrow’s contemporary incarnations of Old World avatars glint, slice and snarl in a supernatural scavenger hunt, vying for possession of a hidden jewel at the heart of a mystery. Grab your popcorn and settle in for a scintillating ride!”—Jacqueline Carey

“An ice-cold contemporary reboot of Baba Yaga—some killer grannies are more lethal than others: pray she isn't yours!”—Charles Stross

“For readers who love the retelling of dark fairy tales, Saintcrow's series starter is a thrilling ride that will not disappoint.”—Booklist

“Saintcrow returns to her roots in this epic-tinged urban fantasy... in which Nat will find the roots of her heritage as she takes a dangerous foray into the mystic places where the Slavic myths such as Baba Yaga and the deathless Koschei still guard their secrets—and her own.”—Library Journal

Spring’s Arcana is hard to put down, with twists and turns that take place along an incredible journey.”—Seattle Book Review, 5/5 stars

“Vividly atmospheric, with fascinating worldbuilding and compelling characters, Spring’s Arcana is an accomplished novel by a writer in peak form.”—Tor.com

Praise for Lilith Saintcrow

"Terrifying, rich, and expertly told, this conclusion to the Dead God's Heart duology should not be missed."—Booklist on The Salt-Black Tree

"Incredibly timely, well written and important.... A testament to Saintcrow's skill." -Los Angeles Times on Afterwar

"Saintcrow scores a hit... Genius and a rocking good time." –New York Times bestselling author Patricia Briggs on The Iron Wyrm Affair

"Saintcrow's rough, rawboned prose paints a world not on the edge, but already over it, revealing an alternate history of America that is achingly relevant to the America in which we live. Simply put, Saintcrow doesn't f*** around." -Chuck Wendig on Afterwar

“Saintcrow knows how to keep the pages turning” ­–Starburst on the Dante Valentine series

"Sensual writing, intricate plotting, and sympathetically quirky, satisfyingly competent characters make this series one to watch." –Publishers Weekly *starred review* on The Iron Wyrm Affair

"If anyone asks whether science fiction can be relevant, point them to Afterwar." -Kirkus

"Not a story for the faint of heart, Lilith Saintcrow's latest novel plays on the darkest elements of current American culture, and flashes an unmistakable warning about a potential future ruled by xenophobia and white supremacy.... Startlingly prescient." -RT Book Reviews on Afterwar

“Afterwar is a punch in the gut, nauseatingly compelling in its emotional realism. As well as compelling as a story: well-paced, strikingly well-characterised, and deftly written, Afterwar is a deeply accomplished novel.” –Tor.com

"Fast paced and full of plot twists, this is a lightweight summer read for fans of Gail Carriger and Meljean Brooks." –Booklist on The Iron Wyrm Affair